You may wonder what abortion is like in your state after the overturning of Roe v. Wade in June 2022. Which states allow abortion and which ones do not?
The Court’s ruling did not ban abortion everywhere in the United States, but it did allow each state to decide its laws and restrictions on this issue.
Many states have currently banned abortion or partially restricted abortion. States, including Florida, Iowa, and Utah, do legalize abortion (though many have some restrictions). However, they are expected to have stricter laws or bans implemented because of the governors recently voted into office by the people of that territory.
Abortion in Florida
Florida bans abortions after 15 weeks and 0 days from the first day of a woman’s last menstrual cycle. The only exception to the law is when it is necessary to save the pregnant woman’s life.
Requirements Before Abortion in Florida
You are required to have an ultrasound before getting an abortion. The abortion provider must offer you the opportunity to see the ultrasound, but you can choose whether to look at it or not.
Ultrasound informs you how far along you are in your pregnancy (if you’re less than 15 weeks and 0 days). An ultrasound scan reveals if your pregnancy is viable (developing with a heartbeat and not ectopic) or if you have miscarried. Experts say up to 20% of known pregnancies end in a natural miscarriage.
Ultrasound also verifies the location of your pregnancy as some pregnancies develop outside the uterus, which is extremely dangerous to your health.
After you discuss the risks of abortion with a physician, you have a 24-hour wait before the procedure. If you are under age 18, a parent or legal guardian must give you permission to get an abortion in our state.
We Can Help
Contact us today to get more information on your rights in your state and what options are available to you. You deserve to have all the facts, so you can make an informed decision you feel comfortable and confident with.